Task 2: Batman RE-Score Task

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/20097628″>Dark Knight Piano RE-DO</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user5031032″>James Rogers</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Report:

 Objective:

My objective for creating this score was to compose a piano piece for the chase scene in “The Dark Knight”.

Visual element/s highlighted

A section I highlighted was  at 0.41” in which Batman passes under the lorry. This was musically expressed by scale patterns, flowing from extreme highs to extreme lows.

The composers approach you adopted:

Through studying Danny Elfman’s Batman score it became apparent that he uses a diverse range of instrumentation. I composed for piano with this in mind to use it in an orchestral manner.

A MIDI/ sequencer technique you learnt:

A MIDI technique I learned was related to the step input keyboard. With this I was able to program notes that I could not play live, enabling more complex rhythms and more control over the selected note durations, pitch and velocity values.

A music technique you learnt through doing the task:

A music technique I learnt was concerned with making effective use of scale patterns and arpeggiations to convey drama.

What did you learn through this task that is an example of practice as research?

Through only using a piano we were given a compositional boundary. This proved to be a challenge, as I would normally rely on the orchestration effect to portray a style of film composition. Through using only piano I had to replicate orchestration effects and dynamics in a manner that reflected the visuals.

What mark for this task would you award yourself and why?

I would give myself a 60% as I feel I used the piano in a way that showed how versatile the instrument could be with reference to Danny Elfman’s “The Batman” score as a compositional guide.

Word count:  242


One response to “Task 2: Batman RE-Score Task

  1. don’t cut the music half way through (‘where is the batman?”) keep it going. I find this a bit static and from comparing the two versions I can see that you rely too much on the orchestral effect… tray and reproduce crescendo with piano better, lower the effects track so the piano is not hiding! this lacks punch ! too much ostinato! you need more ebb and flow and emphasising more local hits (rises and falls before intermediated events)

Leave a Reply

